OBSIDIANLAKE

Writing down my thoughts once ince a while

Joomla!

with 3 comments

Joomla! InstallJoomla! InstallNothing goes as planned sometimes. Drupal was not so easy to set up compared to Joomla!. After reading an article on Google Reader about the three best, free CMS’s in the world and finding out that Joomla! has 1st place, I had to try it. It really was easier to set up thanks to the integrated web installer, but somehow after testing it until now, I’m not really sure about it. Drupal seemed much easier to manage than it was to set up compared to Joomla! which got me very frustrated at first interaction with the site and then with the administration. I left Joomla! on the web site, I posted some articles for testing but the default site template that comes with it is just not something I like and I can’t seem to find one free Joomla! template on the whole web(at least one that looks good).
So my plans are to leave Joomla! for now, and do some more testing on my PC of Drupal, Joomla!, DokuWiki, phpBB and all other CMS’s and web applications that can be great tools for team collaboration. After that all I want to do is do some 3D modeling and some sketches and use the forum😉

Written by brokenthorn

November 22, 2006 at 12:16

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Honestly, Drupal is the way to go. If you get Drupal 5, although it’s in beta it’s quite stable and has a very easy-to-use installer. The learning curve is greater, but honestly the experience is worth it.

    Tane

    November 22, 2006 at 13:38

  2. I think http://www.joomlaya.com has a couple of thousand free Joomla templates🙂

    Joomla

    November 24, 2006 at 03:19

  3. Thank you people for your comments. Hopefully Joomla! will change in my eyes😉 I’m going to give it more testing time soon.

    Sebastian

    November 24, 2006 at 12:53


Leave a Reply

