OBSIDIANLAKE

Writing down my thoughts once ince a while

Setting up the apt version of DokuWiki

with 3 comments

I just installed the Kubuntu Gutsy Gibbon, Tribe 5 testing release yesterday and I haven’t gotten to set up everything yet but I did get to set up DokuWiki, a small wiki in PHP that uses text files to store pages. It has a nice syntax, it’s light and that is why I like it.

Anyway, I installed the apt version of DW and I was a little disappointed because it didn’t work right away even after it (debconf) asked me question about how I want to configure and install DK. I searched the Ubuntu wiki and forums but nothing relevant came at first sight and otherwise nothing that was quick to follow so I decided to look at the configuration files. I’m not very good at configuring Apache but this was easy to fix, fortunately.🙂

Make www-data the owner of the DW files:

sudo chown -R www-data.www-data /usr/share/dokuwiki

Let everyone retrieve the files. Edit /etc/dokuwiki/apache.conf to look like this:


Alias /dokuwiki /usr/share/dokuwiki
<Directory /usr/share/dokuwiki>
Options +FollowSymlinks
AllowOverride All
order allow,deny
# allow from 127.0.0.1
# here's the change:
allow from all
</Directory>

Now restart the Apache server and it should be working, type http://yourhostorip/dokuwiki in your browser. Be careful as all pages are stored in /usr/share/dokuwiki. You should make regular backups of the folder.

Written by brokenthorn

August 29, 2007 at 19:36

Posted in Linux, Ubuntu

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. File a bug🙂

    I couldn’t find the package on launchpad.net, you could ask in #ubuntu-motu what you should do in this case.

    After a very quick look it seems the package comes directly from Debian…

    Matthew

    August 29, 2007 at 22:27

  2. Sebastian

    August 30, 2007 at 05:25


Leave a Reply

