OBSIDIANLAKE

Writing down my thoughts once ince a while

A good thermal paste!

leave a comment »

Arctic Silver® Céramique is a very good thermal paste(actually, high density thermal compound :P). I bought some a week ago and I’ve been running with it for 3 days now. I have a power hungry Prescott on my desktop computer and it was getting very hot, too hot for its specifications: more than 60 °C.

The idle temperature used to be around 45 °C and the CPU fan ran at 3000 RPM. Now after replacing the thermal paste that came with the CPU when it was installed, the idle temperature is 34-36 °C, about 10 ° lower than before. It’s also about that much lower when the CPU is under constant full load, at 50-52 °C.

I unmounted every piece of hardware in my computer case to clean it and then mounted the CPU with the new thermal paste just like the producer recommends. I cleaned the surfaces with alcohol and I used a very thin layer of paste that I spread(with some force I must say; the paste has some consistency!) on the CPU with my finger wrapped in thin plastic foil.

This was my first time ordering something over the Internet and I wasn’t really sure of the product quality or whether to trust the sender, but now I’m really eased and glad that it works as expected.

UPDATE: Playing OpenArena for the past 2 hours and it’s only at 46 °C.

Written by brokenthorn

September 13, 2007 at 17:02

Posted in hardware

Leave a Reply

