OBSIDIANLAKE

Writing down my thoughts once ince a while

Reset high speed USB device ???

with 9 comments

I purchased a USB hard drive enclosure for a hard drive I got out of an Amilo D7850 laptop that burnt (yeah!). For a while I was having problems transferring files to and from the device on both Ubuntu (Feisty and Gutsy kernels) on my PC and Windows on my brother’s PC. On Ubuntu, system logs kept showing this:

[29017.102134] usb 5-1: reset high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and address 3
[29048.437287] usb 5-1: reset high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and address 3
[29079.392993] usb 5-1: reset high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and address 3
[29110.312749] usb 5-1: reset high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and address 3
[29141.132651] usb 5-1: reset high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and address 3

At first I thought the device wasn’t getting enough power from the USB port, but it comes with a Y cable so you can give it power from two USB ports, but it still resets.

I didn’t really use it that much so I gave up on troubleshooting it and searching the web, until today. I really needed it for backup, so I once again searched the web.

The fix in my case was just to remove the USB2.0 module from the kernel:
sudo rmmod ehci-hcd
I have an Intel chipset based motherboard, if you have something else, it might be uhci-hcd, but then again that chipset might not have this problem.
Next, the USB1.1 module kicks in and your drive should get automounted and working OK, albeit at only ~1MB/s.

Now how do you disable USB2.0 on Widows?😉

Written by brokenthorn

September 30, 2007 at 19:52

Posted in hardware, Linux, Windows

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Does it really not work on windows? Or are you just saying that?🙂

    waqas

    October 1, 2007 at 18:20

  2. Of course I’m not just saying that. It doesn’t work on Windows either. It’s a purely technical problem (that could be fixed in software).

    What amazes me is the amount of people having this problem. Some have it with SD card readers:-/.

    Sebastian

    October 1, 2007 at 18:31

  3. thanx for the tip! I’ve been having this problem for about two years now… just too out usb2 like you suggested from ubuntu and it looks like it’s working🙂
    I hardly use my windows (which also has the same problem) so i’m not too bothered on that front. Thanks!

    mishelangelo

    November 22, 2007 at 15:26

  4. This problem could probably be fixed by changing all ports to usb 1.0 in the bios. I recently started getting this problem, my usb devices worked fine but now do not. I suspect my motherboard is having problems. I hope that the fix you mention works, and I will try the bios fix as well if it does.

    creepstarr

    July 21, 2008 at 05:06

  5. I didn’t think of that. It might work by disabling the *USB2.0 controller* in the BIOS or setting the main USB controller to Full Speed (USB1.1) from the previous setting of Hi-Speed (USB2.0).

    You would obviously want your USB controllers to work at Hi-Speed since it’s the latest standard (USB2.0) with a maximum theoretical throughput of 60MB/s. USB Full-Speed controllers (USB1.1 standard) work at a maximum of 1.5 MB/s. But what are you going to do if that lazy/crappy arse USB device won’t work under Windows?

    brokenthorn

    July 22, 2008 at 19:01

  6. I solved this problem by changing the USB cable. It must have been faulty or too long.

    zetheroo

    September 1, 2008 at 15:46

  7. Could you tell us more? Was you new cable shorter?

    brokenthorn

    September 2, 2008 at 10:42

  8. What kernel version were you using when you saw these issues?

    Fletch Hasues

    October 30, 2008 at 20:20

  9. @Fletch Hasues: I was using the default Gutsy and Feisty kernels, that’s all I can remember.

    brokenthorn

    November 3, 2008 at 23:44


Leave a Reply

