OBSIDIANLAKE

Writing down my thoughts once ince a while

Can you type your password without looking at the letters?

with 2 comments

Even for people that no longer need to watch the letters when they type at the keyboard, there are moments when it’s almost impossible to type without closely looking at what you are typing.

At least in my case, the reason I can type at the keyboard without looking at the letters is because I actually am looking at the letters — at the screen, not the keyboard.

I know where every letter of the QWERTY layout is and every special key, but even so, I realized that if I were not to look at what I was typing on the screen, typing mistakes (typos) would appear… lots of them. That’s not acceptable for me, not even in instant messaging sessions. I am really appreciative of people who can actually spell words correctly and don’t become lazy enough to use “u” instead of “you” or “la8r” instead of “later”, just as examples.

Acronyms are another thing. Using ASL every time you enter a chat room is annoying, but not “Hi everyone”/”Hi”/”Hello”/”Good day to everyone”, or TTYL when you leave the room for example. If TTYL would be used as much as ASL in chat rooms, we’d probably see ten people per second leaving the room (ok, that’s a little exaggerated, but still ASL is used much more often than TTYL and it’s annoying).

Getting back to the subject, the only time I look at the keyboard letters is when I type my passwords. There’s no way I could type my 15+ characters long passwords perfectly without looking at the keyboard letters (considering that all you see on the screen are stars ***). Well maybe I could, if I were to practice typing them for long enough, but I hate typing my password too often. That’s why I use any means possible to cache it😛. At least per session.

Written by brokenthorn

November 17, 2007 at 14:55

Posted in life

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I can’t type much without looking at the text on screen or looking at the keyboard. I should really learn to type.

    waqas

    November 17, 2007 at 23:06

  2. I can type well without looking at keyboard, unless I am lazy and typing with one hand.

    It’s not tough, you just need a little practice.

    aqeeliz

    December 2, 2007 at 14:37


Leave a Reply

