OBSIDIANLAKE

Writing down my thoughts once ince a while

First guitar

with 6 comments

First of all, I’d like to tell you that I’ve always liked music and a couple of musical instruments best, the piano and the guitar. I also like the violin for its sad tune but it’s nothing compared to how much I like the guitar. I haven’t been a fan of guitar players and guitar music playing bands in particular, maybe because I had other preocupations… Thus I know too few names that made history with the guitar and its music (I know Pink Floyd and I love the music. Not much comes into mind right now.).

On the other hand I do listen to a lot of guitar music, especially rock music: alternative, classic, goth, some hard metal. Although it’s mostly about electric guitars these days, I like the acoustic guitar for its clearer sound and I would choose the acoustic guitar over the electric one any time. That’s not only because I like the sound of the acoustic better, but because acoustic melodies are also much better sounding. Try picturing a world of acoustic guitar melodies and a world of electric guitar melodies, which world would be more colourful?

I would have stated that learning to play the acoustic guitar for the first time is easier than learning to play the electric guitar for the first time, but that statement wouldn’t have been founded on facts because I haven’t learned how to play any of those instruments, yet. But I still think that.
As you might have guessed, my first guitar is an acoustic guitar. Actually, it’s an electro-acoustic: an acoustic guitar with a pick-up. And it sounds quite nice! I can even add distorsion and get that electric guitar feel. So now I’m left with (little money in my pockets and) learning how to play it.

I couldn’t decide, or rather I didn’t have the time to search for a guitar teacher, so for now I decided to learn some things on my own. Considering how the Internet is such a wonderful thing from where you can learn a lot of things, why should learning the guitar be excluded? I’ve started out learning some musical theory and it’s not so boring because I look forward to playing some songs and even composing, which is a thought that really keeps me going.

Right now I’m looking for some friends that might be learning the guitar for the first time themselves. Learning something new is always easier when you’re doing it with some friends. That’s something I realized after finishing school. So if you want to share your knowledge, ideas, questions, doubts, anything else about this subject, let me know about it. I hope we might help eachother learn faster and maybe play together.

Now I’ll leave you with some pictures of my first guitar, Cort EARTH 70E NAT.

Written by brokenthorn

April 25, 2008 at 22:25

Posted in guitar

Tagged with , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Go to the author’s original blog: First guitar […]

  2. This is amazing. I too started learning the acoustic guitar; I’m one week into it. I was looking at guitar and keyboard. I like the violin, but considered it too demanding. I know and like the major guitar players, but I don’t collect their music. Pink Floyd is awesome.

    I find the acoustic guitar to be more pleasing to the ear, and a more “personal” sound, whatever that means🙂 Although, the great majority of my music collection contains electric guitar.

    Originally, I wasn’t going to find a teacher, but I’ve already changed my mind; first lesson was last night. The teacher spotted several issues with my form. My form would begin OK, but as I concentrated on the notes, the frets and the picking, my form would break down.

    I have been reading about music theory for a few months now, and it’s not boring. But I’m a software engineer, so the technical stuff is fun🙂

    I want to play songs, but I’m not in a hurry. I see it as the journey that’s important, not the destination.

    You have a nice looking guitar. I bought a Taylor DN3 (also called a “310”). It’s one of the simplest, but professional instruments I liked. Spending that much money reminds me of the seriousness, that this isn’t just a silly game.

    Glen Hein

    April 26, 2008 at 00:06

  3. Hi, Glen. I know what you mean about “personal”, sometimes it’s hard to state the reasons you made a choice, especially with music. It’s like trying to describe your soul even though there might be no possible way. Thanks for sharing your ideas and example. I think I already found some similarities between you and I. For example, I am learning software engineering/programming, my music collection is electric guitar dominant and I’m not in hury either. As you said it, it’s the journey that matters.

    I’ll look into finding a teacher myself, but I don’t know how soon I will be able to start with that, since I’m kind of short on the dough right now.

    Hey, any possibility that you can blog about this every often you learn something new? I’d like to know. Please leave your url if you have a blog. Thanks again and have a great journey!

    brokenthorn

    April 26, 2008 at 00:18

  4. I don’t have a blog, but I can leave some comments as I learn. Here’s a finger exercise the instructor showed me.

    Begin on the 6th string, play the first fret with the first finger, then second fret with the second finger, then third fret, then fourth fret. Then move to the 5th string and repeat the pattern. Then the 4th string, etc. After completing the 1st string, move over one fret while staying on the 1st string, so play the second fret with the first finger, third fret with the second finger etc. Then move the 2nd string, etc. After completing the 6th string, move over a fret and repeat the entire pattern.

    In addition to this “1-2-3-4” fret pattern, do a “4-3-2-1” pattern, then a “1-4-2-3”, then “4-1-3-2”.

    It took me 20 minutes to do the “1-2-3-4” pattern two times!

    Glen Hein

    April 26, 2008 at 00:47

  5. Thanks for your support Glen. That exercise seems intriguing, I’ll have to start in the morning. You know it’s a shame you don’t blog. Everyone should!😀

    brokenthorn

    April 26, 2008 at 00:55

  6. […] By Pete CareyMercury News wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptI would have stated that learning to play the acoustic guitar for the first time is easier than learning to play the electric guitar for the first time, but that statement wouldn’t have been founded on facts because I haven’t learned … […]


Leave a Reply

