OBSIDIANLAKE

Writing down my thoughts once ince a while

How do I know I tuned my guitar correctly?

with 3 comments

That is not a question I’m going to answer for you. Actually it’s a question I’m asking you.
I only just bought my first guitar and I’m still without a teacher. I’ve read some people learned how to play the guitar completely off the Internet. I don’t know whether to believe that or not but for the time being I will “investigate” that possibility. The first thing I’ve learned is absolutely necessary to do and be able to do correctly, is to tune the guitar.

Some people don’t have a well developed musical ear early in the process of learning so tuning their guitars solely by ear might be impossible. I didn’t buy an electronic tuner for my guitar. Using one might be the answer to the question title, but what if you don’t have one or you don’t want to buy one? Or what if you can’t use an electronic tuner? Wouldn’t it be great to develop your ear by learning how to listen to those notes first? Of course it would but without anyone, like a teacher for example, to correct your errors you would probably be wrong on many aspects of things involved in guitar playing while thinking you’re doing it right.

I know what I’m getting myself into by not getting a teacher and I hope everyone else like me also realizes the risk. Some people recommend using the Internet to learn how to play the guitar and that’s what I’m doing for the time being. I’ve learned how to tune my guitar in at least two different ways: relative tuning and harmonics tuning. But still that’s just procedure. How do I know I’ve got he correct notes and that I’m not missing anything or misinterpreting some notes?

Well, I don’t know. I’ll think about it, I’ll continue to learn and hope that along the way the secret will reveal itself, unknowingly. I know this is probably just me wishing for too much from the start, being over enthusiastic, ready to dive in but things aren’t as easy as you picture them before you start. More on this some other time.

EDIT: I actually didn’t know about clips like this one (call me ignorant) but it’s the same thing I’ve learned from other text sources and it’s exactly how I’ve done it so far. It’s a relative tuning method. You get the 6th string, the lowest pitch string, in tune by listening to a piano (of course that has to be in tune also) or a tuning fork, then you tune the other strings relative to that. There’s some musical theory one needs to understand when tuning a guitar. Wikipedia provides useful information on guitar tuning. There’s also the harmonic tuning, also relative tuning. Personally I found that easier to do. Here’s a random (but good) video. I guess now I’m more sure about my tuning.😀

Written by brokenthorn

April 27, 2008 at 12:48

Posted in guitar

Tagged with , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. thank for good information~~*

    please visit my blog too : http://about-onlineguitarlessons.blogspot.com//

    Kitsanapon Hempo

    May 11, 2008 at 09:22

  2. Hey i know its been awhile since this was uploaded, but im in the same boat you were in, idk how to tune or anything really. I have nobody to teach me so im stuck with the internet and books. Anyways, how are you now? did you stick to the internet for help or did you find someone to help you out?

    Chase

    July 1, 2011 at 04:52

    • Well… things sort of got out of hand and I stopped learning. Honestly, now I believe that only the truly passionate can learn how to play such a hard instrument all by themselves. When I say hard I mean that it requires a lot of hand coordination and there are many many more skills to develop on a guitar than… say a piano which you could play pretty well faster. I still have the guitar though… maybe someday. If not I, then maybe my kids? ^^ Hahah. Thanks for asking. Btw, I moved my current blog to obsidianlake.blogspot.com🙂

      brokenthorn

      July 1, 2011 at 09:47


Leave a Reply

