OBSIDIANLAKE

Writing down my thoughts once ince a while

Omegle? What is it?

leave a comment »

Omegle is a fairly decent realisation of somebody’s original idea. The idea is to allow people to meet other people at random and start a conversation that might last between a couple of seconds and probably more than a couple of hours. I only just found out about it from a friend but now I’m thinking how could I have missed this.

Omegle uses Twisted and that means it’s rather easy to extend and very flexible. But I don’t like one thing about it: it’s got trolls. I tried having conversations with random people but more than 90% of them, I could say, were just spamming.

Then I tried A Nice Chat and surprisingly enough, I met a great person from the first attempt and we’re still chatting. I wonder how many other similar services are  out there; I haven’t searched, but the idea is just marvellous. I know it will pick up fast, just like Twitter. I just hope it won’t face that many problems with scalability and that trolls will be taken care of one way or another.

Good luck finding the right stranger to talk to!😉

Written by brokenthorn

April 5, 2009 at 18:06

Posted in blogging, web

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

